Gallery Schedule

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

HeArt of Tennessee is a community-building project (Murfreesboro, Smyrna, LaVergne and Eagleville) that has involved artists of all ages, races and socioeconomic categories.  The project consists of three phases, the first of which has been completed under the leadership of a recently connected creative community.  In Phase I of the project, 24 local artists painted 24 large (24") aluminum hearts fabricated by local blacksmith Joe Brown. Local artists, painter Norris Hall and sculptor Lewis Snyder, consulted with project organizers on materials that would be weather sustaining.  Project organizers contacted local businesses to sponsor the hearts. This money was used for paint and materials for the hearts, and the remaining will be used toward the final sculpture. In October 2018, at the Boro Art Crawl, on the public square in Murfreesboro, the hearts were displayed on easels for the public to view.  After the event, the hearts were displayed around the courthouse square in business windows. This show will be on exhibit at the Center for the Arts November 11th-January 6th with a reception December 13th from 6-7:30 during the Boro Art Crawl.

 In Phase II,  they will be collected and assembled into public art with a 14' centerpiece sculpture that will reside in the Breezeway by Gateway Island. The design of this sculpture was developed by Michael Baggerly, Sharon Kolli and Ginny Togrye with the theme of HeArt of TN promoting the love and inclusiveness of our city. The hearts will be a secondary element around the centerpiece sculpture and placed in a lower base and concrete pad. A honeycomb grid fence will be around the entire sculpture installation fitting in with the Breezeway's theme of pollination. Phase III of the project will add an open gazebo with seating.  Our goal is for this to be the first of many public sculptures our citizens can enjoy and to set our city on a path as a cultural destination.  

Participating artists include Lisa Sims, Richard Spry, Susan Rodehaver, Diane Stockard, Sharon Mayeux, April Broussard, Susan Gulley, Kay Currie, Lewis and Eric Snyder, Sheryl Ann Miller Turman, Suzanne LeBeau, Phil Wagner, Delaney Fitzhugh, Carol Berning, Dawn Magliacano, Norris Hall, Mira Patel, Ashley Buchanon, Lisa Browning, Abby Reish, Sharon Kolli, Ginny Togrye, Kory Wells, Lynn Anthony, and Janice Reeves.